Educational Services

  • Need help?

    For questions, please contact Laura Valle, Executive Assistant to the Chief Academic Officer at 623-772-2291.


    Dr. Shelmon Brown, Chief Academic Officer
    Email: sbrown@pesd92.org

    Laura Valle, Executive Assistant to the Chief Academic Officer
    Phone: 623-772-2291
    Email: lavalle@pesd92.org

    Amy Christopher, Director of School Improvement and Program Development
    Phone: 623-772-2294
    Email: achristopher@pesd92.org

    Gwendolyn Parker, Director of Special Education
    Phone: 623-772-2332
    Email: gparker@pesd92.org 

    Dr. Gwyneth Marr, Director of Curriculum and Innovation
    Phone: 623-772-2296
    Email: gmarr@pesd92.org 

    Andrew Wallen, Director of Assessment and Program Development
    Phone: 623-772-2295
    Email: lwallen@pesd92.org 

    Dr. Abigail Flister, Professional Development Coordinator
    Phone: 623-772-2298
    Email: aflister@pesd92.org

    Kelsie Pennington, Coordinator for English Language Arts and Social Studies
    Phone: 623-772-2297
    Email: kpennington@pesd92.org

    Julia Soto, Coordinator for Language Acquisition
    Phone: 623-772-2312
    Email: jsoto@pesd92.org 

    Dr. Catherine Linhardt, STEAM and Technology Integration Specialist
    Phone: 623-772-2311
    Email: clinhardt@pesd92.org 

    Dr. Tara Armstead, District-Wide Middle School Mentor
    Email: tarmstead@pesd92.org 

    Areas of Responsibility

    Educational Services is responsible for curriculum and instruction in English Language Arts, Mathematics, Social Studies, Science, Physical Education, Music, Art, and Technology. In addition, the team is responsible for students who are acquiring English as a second language, STEAM and technology innovation, athletic and after-school programs, district-wide educational events, new teacher orientation, and professional learning.

    Strategic Plan Goals

    1. Increased understanding of deeper learning
    2. School leaders will support staff in utilizing culturally responsive instructional strategies.
    3. K-8 teachers will increase collaborative learning opportunities for students.

    Our Mission

    Our mission is to provide a holistic educational experience in and out of the classroom that is both equitable and innovative for every learner, to ensure academic outcomes that prepare students to be global leaders in their chosen post-secondary endeavors.

    Points of Pride

    • We provide a guaranteed and viable curriculum for every child across all content areas.
    • We provide cutting-edge experiences through makerspaces, FUSE labs, and our academies to provide real-life, hands-on exploratory learning experiences.
    • We provide a comprehensive after-school athletic program at every school that includes Special Olympics, eSports, basketball, soccer, volleyball, cheerleading, track and field, and flag football. In addition, individual schools offer clubs that are catered to students' interests, such as robotics, yearbook, Ballet Folklorico, and mariachi programs.